Are you curious about which state has the strictest gun laws? Keep reading to find out which state that is.
Checkout this video:
There is much debate surrounding gun control and the level at which gun control should be regulated. Gun control laws regulate the manufacture, sale, possession, modification, and use of firearms. Thefirearm-related death rate in the United States is higher than that of most developed countries. In 2014, firearms were used in 71 percent of homicides and in 52 percent of suicides.
Different states have different gun laws. Some states have stricter gun laws than others. The term “strictest” can be subjective. Some people might think that a state has stricter gun laws if it requires a background check for all firearm sales while others might think a state has stricter gun laws if it bans assault weapons. There is no definitive answer as to which state has the strictest gun laws.
California has some of the strictest gun laws in the United States. In order to purchase a gun, residents must first obtain a Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) by passing a written test on gun safety. They must then complete a certified firearms safety course, which must be done in person.
Once they have completed these two steps, they may purchase a gun from a licensed dealer. California also has a 10-day waiting period for all gun purchases, regardless of whether the buyer already has an FSC. Additionally, California requires all gun owners to safely store their guns in a locked container or disabled with a trigger lock.
While the state of California has some of the strictest gun laws in the country, the state of Connecticut has even stricter laws. In order to purchase a handgun in Connecticut, one must have a valid permit that was issued by the local police department. The permit must be renewed every five years. There is a waiting period of 14 days to purchase a handgun. One must also complete a safety course and pass a background check.
According to the Giffords Law Center, Hawaii has the strictest gun laws in the country. To purchase a firearm in Hawaii, you must have a permit from the police department. There is a 14-day waiting period for all firearm purchases, and all firearms must be registered with the police department. Assault weapons are banned in Hawaii, as are high-capacity magazines.
It should come as no surprise that the state with the strictest gun laws is also the state with the lowest rate of gun violence. Illinois has some of the most comprehensive background check and licensing requirements in the country, and it requires all gun dealers to be licensed by the state. Illinois also prohibits gun dealers from selling assault weapons and high-capacity magazines, and it maintains a database of all gun owners in the state.
Maryland has some of the strictest gun laws in the country, according to a new ranking from the Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence.
The state scored an A- on the organization’s gun law scorecard, which rates states on a 100-point scale based on a variety of factors, including background checks, permit requirements, gun trafficking laws, and more.
Maryland is one of only eight states to earn an A- or higher on the scorecard. The others are California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Massachusetts, New Jersey, and Rhode Island.
The state of Massachusetts has the strictest gun laws in the United States. All firearms must be licensed and registered with the state, and there is a waiting period for all gun purchases. background checks are required for all private gun sales.
When it comes to gun laws, New Jersey is often considered to have some of the strictest in the nation. For instance, in order to purchase a handgun, residents must first obtain a Firearm Purchaser Identification Card (FPIC) from the New Jersey State Police.
In order to obtain an FPIC, applicants must:
* Be at least 21 years of age
* Be a resident of NJ
* Demonstrate a “justifiable need” for owning a handgun (e.g. for self-defense)
* Pass a criminal background check
* Pass a psychological evaluation conducted by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist
* Complete a firearms safety course approved by the NJ State Police
New York has some of the strictest gun laws in the United States. In order to purchase a handgun, residents must have a license, which can be obtained through a background check and completion of a safety course. There is a waiting period of at least three days to buy a gun. Assault weapons are banned in New York, as are large capacity magazines.
Rhode Island has some of the strictest gun laws in the United States. All firearms must be registered with the state police, and background checks are required for all gun sales. There is a ban on assault weapons, and high capacity magazines are also banned. Rhode Island also has a “red flag” law, which allows family members or law enforcement to petition a court to remove firearms from someone who is deemed to be a danger to themselves or others.